The Coppa Florio is a car race that has been held since 1900 and takes its name from the Sicilian entrepreneur Vincenzo Florio, who decided to set up a prize of 50,000 lire and a cup from Parisian Polak. The cup victory went to the car manufacturer that has won several times in the 7 editions held on various international circuits.

After 40 years, the Coppa Florio returns to the Sicilian circuit of Pergusa, with GT, Touring, and Prototype cars that compete in an exciting 12-hour endurance race over the weekend of 10-11 October 2020.

The success of this sixth round of the 2020 24h Series went to the Porsche 911 GT3 R of the GPX Racing crew, composed of Robert Renauer, Jordan Grogor, Frederic Fatien, and Mathieu Jaminet; followed by the Americans of CP Racing, trained by Charles Putman, Charles Espenlaub, Joe Foster, and Shane Lewis in a MERCEDES-AMG GT3 EVO 2020; and closing the podium in third position is the Audi R8 LMS GT3 EVO 2019 of the Car Collection Motorsport, piloted by drivers Michael Doppelmayr, Pierre Kaffer, Elia Erhart, and Hendrik Still.

Good performances by Italians, as well as Sicilians:

Giosuè Rizzuto and Walter Palazzo, together with the Dutch Joroen Bleekemolen and the Argentine Pablo Orero, won 9th place with the Porsche 911 РII Cup of the Fulgenzi Racing team, while the Sicilians Davide Di Benedetto, Michele Merendino, Giuseppe Nicolosi, and Simone Patrinicola aboard the La Porche 911 РII Cup of Team Tempo srl closed the race in eleventh position.

Photos & Words by Giunta Davide

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: