You are here
Home > Event Coverage > World Time Attack Challenge 2016

World Time Attack Challenge 2016

From humble beginnings at the now defunct Oran Park back in 2008, the World Time Attack Challenge has now grown into one of the world’s biggest time attack events. Time attack events began in Japan in the mid-1960s. They have since spread around the world. The international World Time Attack event has been held at Sydney Motorsport Park, Australia since 2010 attracting the fastest time attack racing teams from around the globe to compete.

Time attack racing is a time trial event, rather than a motor “race”. Each vehicle is timed through circuits of the track, typically over a single lap, typically inclusive of a preliminary circuit, then run the timed laps, and then finish with a cool-down lap.

Held over two days, the World Time Attack has now become one of Australia’s most popular and most diverse motorsport events, with plenty of action both on and off track. With over 60 exhibitors, over 450 show cars on display, and around 150 entries competing over 6 classes there was something for every motorsport fan to be excited about. The Shannon’s “Show & Shine” event was a great sight to behold, with a myriad of differing car types and models to drool over. Rare classics, and modern exotics filled the bill.

This years event attracted special guests and celebrities of the motorsport world including; V8 Supercar driver Tim Slade, Red Bull Drifter “Mad” Mike Whiddett and Japanese drivers Nobuteru Tangiguchi and Tomohiko “Under” Suzuki.

The event was very well attended, and reached a peak of 1.1m viewers via the online TV stream. After two days of action, it was the MCA Suspension Nissan S13; “Hammerhead” that was crowned 2016 Yokohama World Time Attack Pro Class Champion. A sensation lap from driver Tim Slade saw a new WTAC lap record of 1:22.19.

Class winners included;

Pro-Am –                   Michael Sigworth (PMQ Design, Mitsubishi Evo 9)

Open Class –             Nathan Morcom (Royal Purple, Mitsubishi Evo 9)

Clubsprint Class –   Daniel Meredith (BYP Racing, Honda Civic)

Full Results Here.

Blake Curtis
Blake Curtis

Blake is a freelance photographer based in Sydney, Australia, focused on motorsport, glamour and commercial photography projects.

Having been involved in motorsport from the age of 11, Blake stepped away from racing to pursue interests behind the camera lens.

Blake holds CAMS photography accreditation for motorsport events within Australia, and has also photographed motorsport events internationally. Blake provides event coverage alongside his photography online here at Spekture.
%d bloggers like this: